Union of Balkan Universities

September 16th, 2014

Union of Balkan Universities

Union of Balkan Universities

Epoka University participates at the establishment of the Balkan Universities Union

On September 11, 2014, the Balkan Universities Union was established in Edirne, Turkey, in a meeting organized under the auspices of Trakya University with the participation of rectors and other representatives from 36 universities of the Balkan region.

Epoka University is one of the co-founding institutions of this Union where the Rector, Prof. Dr. Remzi Altın, participated in the founding meeting and signed the said agreement alongside with 35 distinguished Universities of the Balkan region.

In this context, Prof. Dr. Yener Yörük, Rector of Trakya University, was appointed as President of the Balkan Universities Union until December 31, 2015. The permanent secretariat of the Union will be located at Trakya University.  The Rector of Ionian University, Prof. Dr. Triantafyllos Albanis will hold the position of honorary president.  At the same time, as of 2016, Prof. Dr. Ivan Ilchev, Rector of Sofia St. Kliment Ohridski University, will be the next President of the Union.


Media and Public Relations Office

+355 4 22 32 086