Epoka League announces the winners; the new champion is ‘Besnik Sykja' high school

April 10th, 2015

Epoka League announces the winners; the new champion is ‘Besnik Sykja' high school

Epoka League announces the winners; the new champion is ‘Besnik Sykja' high school

Epoka League is conceived to support universal values ​​of friendship and fair play. In its second year of organization it marks a record number of participating teams.
Organized by Epoka University Sports Club, with the support of the Ministry of Education and Sports and the Albanian Football Association, the international football championship has involved in the competition Albanian and foreign high schools football teams. The championship was organized in two phases. The first phase consisted in a tournament for qualifying teams from Albanian high schools and it was organized from 9th to 27th of March in 9 cities: Tirana, Durres, Elbasan, Shkodra, Korca, Vlora, Fier, Berat and Peshkopia. 45 schools participated in this phase.
The final phase began on 6 April and concluded on April 10 and the champion team  was Besnik Sykja high school. At this stage participated 32 teams from 6 countries: Albania, Kosovo, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Bosnia, and Turkey.
In the finals of this edition, at the  ​​football field of Epoka University, Besnik Sykja high school from Tirana played against Ahmet Dakli high school from Elbasan. The match ended in an even result with the score being 1 to 1. Besnik Sykja high school team won after penalties with the score 6 to 5. Third place in this championship ranked Tirana Economic Technical School that won with penalties against Myslym Keta high school in Tirana.
Several trophies were attributed to other teams and individual players as well. Thus, the 'fair play team’ trophy was awarded to Myslym Keta high school.
'Best goalkeeper' trophy went to Fatjon Zuna  from Ahmet Dakli school;
'Best defender' trophy was awarded to Mikel Hoxha from Besnik Sykja School;
'Best midfielder’ trophy was awarded to Dejvi Bilali from Ahmed Dakli School;
'Best striker' trophy was awarded to  Kevin Myslimi  from Myslym Keta school;
'Best coach' trophy was awarded to Denis Agaraj from Besnik Sykja School;
'Top scorer' trophy with 15 goals was awarded to Kevin Kosova from the Economic Technical School.
 'Best player of the tournament' trophy was awarded to Kevis Gjeci from Besnik Sykja School.
During the final match were present also the Deputy Minister of Education and Sports, Mr Rauf Dimraj, the Director of Sports at MAS, Mr. Vladimir Gjonaj, the Deputy Minister of Education and Sports, Mrs. Nora Malaj and the AFA member of Executive Committee, Mr. Vasil Bici.
Epoka University in capacity of the organizer of this international championship will continue to work and contribute to the community by educating youngsters with civic and sports values ​​. Best wishes go to the organizers, participants and supporters of the activity.



Media and Public Relations Office

+355 4 22 32 086